Upper Murrumbidgee Landcare Committee

Printer-friendly version

What is Landcare?
Landcare is about individuals volunteering their time and expertise to take care of land, water and social issues which may be happening in their local area.

Landcare is also about community empowerment - it is the way people come together to better understand and find solutions to local problems. Through cooperation, groups can solve problems/issues that cannot be effectively undertaken by individuals.

In the Upper Murrumbidgee there are currently 17 Landcare Groups tackling problems that degrade our environment and reduce productivity. These issues include weeds, declining water quality remnant vegetation management and soil erosion.

» www.umlc.org.au

If you would like to join a Landcare group in this area or seek further information please contact: Chair, Tony Robinson
229 Mt Livingstone Rd
Michelago NSW 2620
Ph: 0409 776 705
Email: tandgrobinson@bigpond.com

Deputy Chair, Lynton Bond
237 Radcliffe Circuit
Carwoola NSW 2620
Ph: 6238 2368
Email: ldbond@tpg.com.au

Natural Resource Officer, Matt de Jongh

South East Local Land Services
PO Box 605, Queanbeyan NSW 2620
Ph: 6229 7709
Email: matt.deJongh@lls.nsw.gov.au

Groups marked on map at right:UMLC area 1. Adaminaby 2. Dry Plains (closed) 3. Cooma Community 4. Kybean 5. Nimmitabel 6. Numeralla 7. Bredbo 8. Michelago 9. Burra 10. Queanbeyan 11. Carwoola 12. Hoskinstown 13. Cooma-Murrumbidgee 14. Captains Flat 15. Smiths Road 16. Royalla 17. Jerangle