YAN Landcare Awards 2015

Printer-friendly version
31 Aug 2015 (All day)

Landcare in the Yass district and surrounds has been going strong for many years and is reaping the benefits of committed and hardworking volunteers.

As a way of recognising the outstanding efforts of landcare goups, the Yass Area Network of Landcare Groups (YAN) makes an annual award for an individual within each Landcare group.  This takes the form of a perpetual trophy for each group with the name of the winner inscribed on it, as well as a separate small trophy or medallion for the individual.  The perpetual trophy remains with the Landcare Group for display either in a meeting area or the winner’s home.  The winner will be chosen by the Landcare group.  The costs of the trophy including engraving are covered by YAN.  All awards will be presented at the YAN AGM each year.  Landcare Groups may also name their award if they wish to.  If a Landcare group does not wish to choose a name the award will be called “Landcare Group name” Landcarer of the Year.

What is Landcare?  Landcare is a grassroots movement that harnesses individuals and groups to protect, restore and sustainably manage Australia’s natural environment and its productivity.

These individual awards will be in addition to the John Betts Award which will still be awarded by YAN.  The winner of the John Betts Award will be chosen from the nominees for the group awards.

If you have any queries please contact Rebecca Widdows on 6118 7706, 0429 153 522 or rebecca.widdows@lls.nsw.gov.auNominations are to be directed to Rebecca and are due on 31 August 2015.

Nomination forms are available here:
https://gallery.mailchimp.com/26422c1d659b072e100e1efec/file/Landcare_Award_Nominations_for_2015.docx (Attachment size is 554KB).