2007/08 ACT Landcare Award Winners Announced

Printer-friendly version

The 2007/08 ACT Landcare Awards winners were announced on Friday 7th September at a celebration breakfast at Regatta Point.

Murrumbidgee Landcare would especially like to congratulate Lynton Bond, Chair of the Molonglo Catchment Group for his award of NLP Individual Landcarer and the Ginninderra Catchment Group's ACT and Region Frogwatch Program for the Nature Conservation Award. Both the Molonglo and Ginninderra Catchment Groups are represented on the MLi committee and continue to be an inspiration to their fellow landcarers.

The National Landcare Program Individual Landcarer, Lynton Bond, from the Molonglo Catchment Group.
The Landcare Australia Nature Conservation Award went to ACT and Region Frogwatch Program. Ginninderra Catchment Group Waterwatch Coordinator, Rachelle McConville, proudly displays the award.
Landcareman made a special appearance to thank all Landcarers and distribute goodwill and encouragement.

The 2007/08 ACT Landcare Award winners were:

  • Westpac Landcare Education Award: Life in the Suburbs Beth Mitchell
  • Alcoa Landcare Community Group Award: Friends of Mt Majura
  • Leighton Holdings Local Government Landcare Partnerships Award: Parks, Conservation and Lands – Namadgi National Park
  • Nature Conservation Award: ACT and Region Frogwatch Program – Ginninderra Catchment Group
  • Rural Press Landcare Primary Producer Award: Geoff Hyles
  • NLP Individual Landcarer Award: Lynton Bond

Two Awards were also given on behalf of the Chief Minister Jon Stanhope:

  • Minister for the Environment Quiet Achiever Award: Anne I’ons
  • Minister for the Environment Community Support Award: Bernadette Brown